Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities

Seven states in the Northwest are under the administration of the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities. This Regional Commission oversees more than 160 institutions in the seven states under their jurisdiction. The Northwest Commission is recognized by the United States Department of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation as the regional authority for educational matters including but not limited to educational standards and institutional credibility.

The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities dates back to 1917, when it went by the name Northwest Association of Secondary and Higher Schools. Quite recently, in the year 2004, it divided into two organizations, with the Northwest Association of Accredited Schools governing primary and secondary schools.

The accreditation process is a somewhat lengthy affair which involves a number of different factors which are required for a school to achieve accreditation. There are two main components to the process of accreditation which are that of institutional self-study and peer evaluation. The college must take an inventory of their own institution with various members such as the faculty, administrators, students, board members, and alumni reporting on a number of issues that are important as per the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

After the institution submits their self-study and evaluation, the Commission starts its own rigorous investigation of their facilities by sending their workers to observe the institution. If everything is upto satisfaction, the institution becomes accredited by the agency and enjoys the credibility included with this accreditation.

Region:                 Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington